"Beyond the visible"

   By Camille Bardin

It is a ritual to which Lenny Rébéré obliges himself daily when he comes back from his studio: he searches, selects and archives the images that come to him according to his requests, among the some two hundred million pictures published every day on the Internet. These decontextualized images, desired by the artist for the forms that compose them, punctuate his works, intermingling with each other to form misty landscapes. As when walking along a path on which a heavy smoke has vanished, it is therefore groping that we discover the work of Lenny Rébéré. Even his chromatic evolution which would seem a priori to warm his paintings (the artist going from black and white to red) keeps them immersed in an ever more enigmatic atmosphere, specific to nocturnal wanderings. It is the color that the streetlights of our cities spread every night on our roads, it is the warm light that veils the Baudelairean walks. A red that also acts in contrast between a photograph that we would come to reveal, embalmed by the bloody lighting of dark rooms, and an image undoubtedly never written on paper, today lost in the abyss of digital.

Then there is this title, “Infras”, which I cannot omit and which comes like a breath in the reading of recent pieces by Lenny Rébéré. It is indeed the prefix that Marx and Engels came to place at the initial of the structure, thus creating the unifying concept of the production systems of our societies, antonym of the superstructure. Because these images are the basis of a community without territory, of a thought without a body that grows through the Internet and is, according to Lenny Rébéré, the 

support of a sociology of our relationships.

 

But above all, infra is the radiation that goes beyond the visible spectrum of light, the radiation that goes to nestle beyond the limits. And that's where Lenny Rébéré takes us. The reflection of glass has already captured our features, now engulfed in an alternative space, at the crossroads of worlds: hidden between the virtual and the real, the intimate and the collective. These works thus crystallize the relationships we have with images. Because if one does not cease to underline their impressive quantity, if one always tries tirelessly to analyze this general and permanent zapping, nothing helps: the images escape us; they assail us on a daily basis, seize our attention, then also suddenly vanish into the limbo of our networks.

Further on, there are these lost passers-by on whom our gaze stumbles. In fact, they could be you, or me. Because they are the walkers of Google Street View, today wandering and anonymous souls hidden in our screens. Lenny Rébéré takes hold of these strangers, gives them, if not a body, a pictorial consistency. But hidden behind this hollowed out jail, their image is revealed in bits and pieces depending on the areas covered or not by the metal panels. The artist engraved on it the forgotten face of historical figures. More than a confrontation between eras, these temporal strata materialize the ghostly life of images and create a survival of past forms, constructing the DNA of our culture. These anachronisms make Lenny Rébéré an anthropological artist of images driven by the desire to know who the real ghosts of our time are: these legendary characters or our bodies, broken by pixels.

 

 Camille Bardin, January 2019

«Au delà du visible»

    Par Camille Bardin

C’est un rituel auquel Lenny Rébéré s’astreint quotidiennement en rentrant de son atelier : il cherche, sélectionne et archive les images qui lui arrivent au gré de ses requêtes, parmi les quelques deux cent millions de clichés publiés chaque jour sur Internet. Ces images décontextualisées, désirées par l’artiste pour les formes qui les composent, viennent ponctuer ses œuvres, s’emmêlant les unes aux autres pour former des paysages brumeux. Comme lorsqu’on avance au bord d’un chemin sur lequel une lourde fumée s’est s’évanouie, c’est donc en tâtonnant que l’on découvre le travail de Lenny Rébéré. Même son évolution chromatique qui semblerait a priori réchauffer ses peintures (l’artiste passant du noir et blanc, au rouge) les maintient plongées dans une atmosphère toujours plus énigmatique, propre aux déambulations nocturnes. C’est la couleur que les lampadaires de nos villes étalent chaque nuit sur nos chaussées, elle est la chaude lumière qui voile les balades baudelairiennes. Un rouge qui agit aussi en contraste entre une photographie que l’on viendrait révéler, embaumée de l’éclairage sanguin des chambres noires, et une image sans doute jamais couchée sur papier, aujourd’hui égarée dans les abîmes du numérique.

Puis il y a ce titre, « Infras », que je ne peux omettre et qui vient comme une respiration dans la lecture des récentes pièces de Lenny Rébéré. C’est en effet le préfixe que Marx et Engels sont venus placer à l’initiale de la structure, créant ainsi le concept fédérateur des systèmes de production de nos sociétés, antonyme de la superstructure. Car ces images sont la base d’une collectivité sans territoire, d’une pensée sans corps qui grandit à travers Internet et se fait, selon Lenny Rébéré, le 

support d’une sociologie de nos rapports.

 

Mais surtout, l’infra est le rayonnement qui dépasse le spectre visible de la lumière, le rayonnement qui part se nicher au-delà des limites. Et c’est là-bas que Lenny Rébéré nous emmène. La réflexion du verre a d’ailleurs déjà happé nos traits, désormais engouffrés dans un espace alternatif, à la croisée des mondes : cachés entre le virtuel et le réel, l’intime et le collectif. Ces œuvres cristallisent ainsi les relations que nous entretenons avec les images. Car si l’on n’a de cesse de souligner leur impressionnante quantité, si l’on tente toujours inlassablement d’analyser ce zapping général et permanent, rien n’y fait : les images nous échappent ; elles nous assaillent au quotidien, s’emparent de nos attentions, puis se volatilisent aussi brusquement dans les limbes de nos réseaux.

Plus loin, il y a ces passants égarés sur lesquels notre regard bute. En fait, ils pourraient être vous, ou moi. Car ils sont les promeneurs de Google Street View, aujourd’hui âmes errantes et anonymes cachées dans nos écrans. Lenny Rébéré se saisit de ces inconnus, leur donne, si ce n’est un corps, une consistance picturale. Mais cachée derrière cette taule creusée, leur image se découvre par bribes en fonction des zones recouvertes ou non par les panneaux métalliques. L’artiste y a gravé le visage oublié de  figures historiques. Plus qu’une confrontation entre des époques, ces strates temporelles matérialisent la vie fantomatique des images et créent une survivance des formes passées, constructrice de l’ADN de notre culture. Ces anachronismes font de Lenny Rébéré un artiste anthropologue des images animé par l’envie de savoir qui sont les véritables fantômes de notre époque : ces personnages légendaires ou nos corps, brisés par les pixels.

 

 Camille Bardin, janvier 2019