"In this immensity, I went up and I went down ... *"

   By Makis Malafékas


The Gauthier workshop wore its best reflections on the day of this diploma; its most captivating glares, shadows and mirages. Because the large paintings of Lenny Rébéré constitute openings on a contemporary translucent and volatile world, a world of which one can only decipher the totality of the signs and the signifiers by the means of a contemplation at the same time subtle and attentive.

The young plastic artist probes the surrounding spaces of his daily life with the instinct of the painter who knows which snapshot it is a question of "keeping", which point of view is the right one, and which particular landscape has enough visual ambiguity to represent it. global ambiguity of existence. The works of the Infra exhibition (title whose “open prefix” side, from the infrared of the surveillance society to the Marxist infra-structure , is claimed by the artist) are presented as scenes from an urban life where the notion of time is relative, sometimes absent and sometimes accelerated, with discreet inhabitants, hidden behind a thousand reflections - including those of indifference and social renunciation. Several layers are superimposed on it, several techniques too.

 

Rébéré initially comes from engraving (from which he derives his penchant for working with images through matter ), and now practices charcoal on canvas as well as sandblasting on glass, a support whose obvious fragility blends perfectly with the subjects it deals with.

* Pasolini, Oil

 

Makis Malafékas, 2019

«Dans cette immensité, je montais et je descendais...*»

    Par Makis Malafékas


L'atelier Gauthier portait ses meilleurs reflets, le jour de ce diplôme ; ses éclats, ses ombres et ses mirages les plus captivants. Car les grandes peintures de Lenny Rébéré constituent des ouvertures sur un monde contemporain translucide et volatile, un monde dont on ne peut déchiffrer la totalité des signes et des signifiants que par le biais d'une contemplation à la fois subtile et attentive.

Le jeune plasticien sonde les espaces environnants de son quotidien avec l'instinct du peintre qui sait quel instantané il s'agit de « garder », quel point de vue est le bon, et quel paysage particulier porte suffisamment d’ambiguïté visuelle pour représenter l'ambiguïté globale de l'existence. Les œuvres de l'exposition Infra (titre dont le côté « préfixe ouvert », de l'infra-rouge de la société de surveillance à l'infra-structure marxiste, est revendiqué par l'artiste) se déclinent comme des scènes d'une vie urbaine où la notion du temps est relative, tantôt absente tantôt accélérée, avec des habitants discrets, cachés derrière mille reflets – dont ceux de l'indifférence et du renoncement social. Plusieurs couches s'y superposent, plusieurs techniques aussi.

 

Rébéré vient initialement de la gravure (d'où il tient son penchant pour le travail de l'image à travers la matière), et pratique désormais le fusain sur toile ainsi que le sablé sur verre, un support dont la fragilité manifeste se marie parfaitement avec les sujets qu'il traite.

*Pasolini, Pétrole

 

Makis Malafékas, 2019