"Layered images"

   By Camille Lemay

Every second, 2,263 photographs are posted on social networks. They show our loves, our friends, our favorites, our moods and freeze on the canvas a moment of our life.
There is what we are and this avatar that is expressed through the images that we filter. The virtual is superimposed on the real, like a layer. Moreover, it is often on the Internet, an infinite self-service data bank, that the artist Lenny Rébéré draws on to create an ode to the intangible.

The vaporous spirits of his works evolve in spectral settings, in black and white, like old photographs abandoned during development. The games of transparency and the lightness that emerges from these scenes whisper to us that we go through life without really owning anything.

His characters are rarely alone but do not interact with each other. Staring into space, they remind us that in a world that has never been so “connected”, we are often alone in front of ourselves in the midst of a crowd of everyday strangers.

We cannot locate the paintings which seem suspended in time. They give us a feeling of unfinished business and remind us that everything is fleeting. It is then that our sensitivity and our imagination must take over.
Poetry absorbs the eye which caresses every detail to detect clues, interpret facial expressions, invent a story and give meaning to this wandering. A need to exist hovers above these everyday ghosts and sends us back to our own fate, fragile and mysterious.

Drowned in an ocean of lonely souls and suffocated by mass consumption, our own life sometimes seems to elude us. Isn't it time to reclaim it for us?

Camille Lemay

2017

«Images stratifiées»

    Par Camille Lemay

Chaque seconde, 2263 photographies sont postées sur les réseaux sociaux. Elles y montrent nos amours, nos amis, nos coups de cœur, nos états d’âme et figent sur la toile un instant de notre vie.
Il y a ce que nous sommes et cet avatar qui s’exprime à travers les images que l’on filtre. Le virtuel est superposé sur le réel, comme un calque. D’ailleurs, c’est souvent sur le net, banque infinie de données en libre-service, que l’artiste Lenny Rébéré puise pour créer une ode à l’impalpable.

Les esprits vaporeux de ses œuvres évoluent dans des décors spectraux, en noir et blanc, comme d’anciens clichés abandonnés en cours de développement. Les jeux de transparence et la légèreté qui se dégage de ces scènes nous murmurent que nous traversons la vie sans rien posséder vraiment.

Ses personnages sont rarement seuls mais n’interagissent pas entre eux. Le regard dans le vide, ils nous rappellent que dans un monde qui n’a jamais été aussi « connecté », nous sommes souvent seuls face à nous-mêmes au milieu d’une foule d’inconnus du quotidien.

Nous ne pouvons situer les tableaux qui semblent suspendus dans le temps. Ils nous donnent un sentiment d’inachevé et nous rappellent que tout est éphémère. C’est alors que notre sensibilité et notre imagination doivent prendre le relais.
La poésie absorbe l’œil qui caresse chaque détail pour déceler des indices, interpréter les expressions des visages, inventer une histoire et donner un sens à cette errance. Un besoin d’exister plane au-dessus de ces fantômes de tous les jours et nous renvoie à notre propre sort, fragile et mystérieux.

Noyés dans un océan d’âmes esseulés et étouffés par la consommation de masse, notre propre vie semble parfois nous échapper, N’est-il pas temps de nous la réapproprier ?

Camille Lemay

2017