GALAXY

 

From now on, a single click allows you to travel across the globe: webcams placed in various places allow this motionless stroll. “Galaxy” is initially the name of a bar with a rowdy sign visible under the attentive lens of one of the many webcams. The project consists of a large room in broken glass and a set of several screens, on which are broadcast video extracts from this live webcam installed in a busy street on the other side of the world, available 24 hours a day. and free on the Internet.

After a night-time capture via the computer screen, then the fragmented distribution of these recordings, the viewer's eyes then reach anonymous interactions taken out of context, which suddenly take on an almost documentary dimension. . Supposed reports of seduction, friendship, hatred or violence, reach us like a new contracted nocturnal world, ready to be deciphered.

Secondly, certain scenes from these recordings were isolated and then integrated into mirrors (engraved glasses and inked on the back) taking the form of micro-stories. Playing with a mise en abyme which doubles the space for receiving these images, Galaxy then places the viewer no longer in front, but on the other side of the screen, while pointing out to us the fragility and ambiguity of the relationship. to the world offered by these new digital tools based on one-way exchanges from viewer (now voyeur) to observed.

So, it is a whole contemporary ethnography which takes shape, no longer external testimony but images of the interior, reflexive. And sometimes it is necessary, by a tilt that escapes us, that a dissociation takes place, that we turn the glass screen so that its space, its volume is restored at the moment. That we see each other see. The gaze leaves its purely visual field, calls upon the memory, is exposed to our acuity. The fleeting image that seizes us has the violent clarity of an awareness: we realize it, we deploy it.

And it is this deployment of experience in this detachment that we call image, like language, symptom of a discreet immensity.

 

Lenny Rébéré - 2019

DSC_0094.jpg
DSC_0118.jpg
DSC_0097.jpg
Vue d'exposition Galaxy.JPG
Galaxy
Galaxy

2019, miroir gravé et encré, 11 x 11 cm

press to zoom
Galaxy
Galaxy

2019, miroir gravé et encré, 40 x 40 cm

press to zoom
Galaxy
Galaxy

2019, miroir gravé et encré, 11 x 11 cm

press to zoom
Galaxy
Galaxy

2019, miroir gravé et encré, 11 x 11 cm

press to zoom

GALAXY

 

Dorénavant, un seul clic permet de voyager à travers le globe : des webcams placées à divers endroits permettent cette déambulation immobile. «Galaxy» est au départ le nom d’un bar à l’enseigne tapageuse visible sous la lentille attentive de l’une de ces nombreuses webcams. Le projet se compose d’une grande pièce en verre brisé et d’un ensemble de plusieurs écrans, sur lesquels sont diffusés des extraits vidéo provenants de cette webcam live installée dans une rue passante à l’autre bout du monde, consultable 24h/24 et gratuitement sur Internet.

Après une captation le temps d’une nuit via l’écran d’ordinateur, puis de la diffusion fragmentée de ces enregistrements, il parvient alors aux yeux du spectateur des interactions d’anonymes mis hors-contexte, qui prennent soudainement une dimension presque documentaire. Des rapports supposés de séduction, d’amitié, de haine ou de violence, nous parviennent comme un nouveau monde nocturne contracté, prêt à être décrypté.

Dans un second temps, certaines scènes de ces enregistrements ont été isolées puis intégrées à des miroirs (verres gravés et encrés au revers) prenant la forme de micros-récits. Jouant d’une mise en abyme qui dédouble l’espace de réception de ces images, Galaxy place alors le spectateur non plus devant, mais de l’autre côté de l’écran, tout en nous signalant la fragilité et l’ambiguïté du rapport au monde que nous offre ces nouveaux outils numériques basés sur des échanges à sens unique de regardeur (devenu voyeur) à observé.

Alors, c’est toute une ethnographie contemporaine qui se dessine, non plus témoignage extérieur mais images de l’intérieur, réflexives. Et il faut parfois, par un basculement qui nous échappe, que s’opère une dissociation, que l’on retourne l’écran de verre pour que soit restitué au moment son espace, son volume. Que l’on se voit voir. Le regard sort de son champ purement visuel, sollicite la mémoire, s’expose à notre acuité. L’image fugitive qui nous saisit a la violente netteté d’une prise de conscience : on la réalise, on la déploie.

Et c’est ce déploiement de l’expérience dans ce décollement que l’on appelle image, comme le langage, symptôme d’une immensité discrète.

 

Lenny Rébéré - 2019

DSC_0118.jpg
DSC_0097.jpg
Vue d'exposition Galaxy.JPG
Galaxy
Galaxy

2019, miroir gravé et encré, 11 x 11 cm

press to zoom
Galaxy
Galaxy

2019, miroir gravé et encré, 40 x 40 cm

press to zoom
Galaxy
Galaxy

2019, miroir gravé et encré, 11 x 11 cm

press to zoom
Galaxy
Galaxy

2019, miroir gravé et encré, 11 x 11 cm

press to zoom